O Little Town of Bethlehem

Written by Phillips Brooks and Lewis Redner
Released on Christmas in the Heart (2009)
Tabbed by Eyolf Østrem


D9/c    x30230
D/a     x04232
Em6     022020
Fdim    123131 or xx3434
  D              Em
O little town of Bethlehem
    D/a      A        D
How still we see thee lie
 D    D9/c B7       Em7
Above thy  deep and dreamless sleep
    D/a    Asus4 A  D
The silent stars go by
    D      Em6  Fdim    F#7
Yet in thy dark streets shineth
   Bm      G   F#7 
in everlasting Light
    D                  G6      G#dim
The hopes and fears of all the years
    D/a    A7/6   D
Are met in thee tonight
    Eb            Ab
How silently, how silently
    Eb/Bb    Bb      Eb
The wondrous gift is given!
   Eb  Eb9/Db C7       Fm7
So God im --  parts to human hearts
    Eb/Bb        Bbsus4 Bb    Eb
The blessings of all      His heaven.
    Bb      Fm6  F#dim G7
[No ear may hear His   coming,
    Cm            Ab G7
But in this world of sin,]
      Eb              Ab6         Adim
Where meek souls will receive him still,
    Eb/Bb       Bb7/6  Eb
The dear Christ enters in.
Ab Eb

Additional verses not sung by Dylan

O holy Child of Bethlehem
Descend to us, we pray
Cast out our sin and enter in
Be born to us today
We hear the Christmas angels
The great glad tidings tell
O come to us, abide with us
Our Lord Emmanuel  
For Christ is born of Mary
And gathered all above
While mortals sleep, the angels keep
Their watch of wondering love
O morning stars together
Proclaim the holy birth
And praises sing to God the King
And Peace to men on earth